Bangalore Chamber of Industry and Commerce

  • |
  • 080 25583325 /26/27/

  • |
  • Login
  • |

Former Additional Chief Secretaries of Karnataka Mr. K Jairaj IAS (Retd.) and Mr. M. N. Vidyashankar IAS (Retd.) Co-opted as Special Invitees to BCIC’s Management Committee

Bangalore Chamber of Industry and Commerce (BCIC) has co-opted Former Additional Chief Secretaries of Karnataka Mr. K Jairaj IAS (Retd.) and M. N. Vidyashankar IAS (Retd.) as a Special Invitees to the Management Committee for the year 2018-19 of the Chamber.  

A member of the 1976 batch of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Mr. K. Jairaj retired as Additional Chief Secretary to Government of Karnataka while Mr M N Vidyashankar an IAS Officer of 1982 batch also retired as Additional Chief Secretary to Government of Karnataka.

Mr. Jairaj accepting the invitation to be part of the Management Committee of the Chamber said: “I am happy to accept BCIC’s invitation to be a Special Invitee to the Management Committee for the year 2018-19.  Over the past few years, I have valued my association with BCIC and look forward to serving the Committee.”


Since Mr. Jairaj held distinguished appointments in the infrastructure, energy, transport and urban development sectors, including Additional Chief Secretary, Energy Department and Chairman, BESCOM, Managing Director, Bangalore International Airport Ltd; Managing Director, Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd; Managing Director, Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation; Commissioner, Bangalore City Corporation (BBMP) for two terms, Commissioner for Commercial Taxes and Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister, he brings in his vast administrative skills into BCIC fold which will directly foster the Chamber to get more proactively involved in the policy and administrative initiatives at the Governmental level.

Mr. Jairaj said: “I am sure we will be able to chart a new course in improving the Business environment in Karnataka.”    

Mr. Jairaj established the Bangalore International Airport Limited (BIAL), India’s first greenfield airport on public private partnership (PPP) basis with Siemens, Germany. Mr. Jairaj served with the World Bank, Washington D.C. USA, as senior public sector management specialist in the Africa region between 2004-2006.

While Mr. Vidyashankar was the Principal Secretary of e-governance for the State of Karnataka.  Mr. Vidyashankar in his long tenure held various posts including Chairman of the Bangalore Water Supply and Sewage Board, Chief Electoral Officer of Karnataka, Commissioner of the Bangalore Development Authority and Principal Secretary of Information Technology, Biotechnology, and Science Technology. Mr. M. N. Vidyashankar, has also served as Principal and Additional Chief Secretary to Govt., Commerce & Industries Department, Govt. of Karnataka. He served as a Director of Karnataka Power Transmission Corp., Ltd.

BCIC’s Management Committee comprises of top industry captains, domain experts and thought leaders including Mr. Kishore Alva, President-BCIC & Joint President & Executive Director, Adani- Udupi Power Corporation Ltd. Mr. Devesh Agarwal, Senior Vice President-BCIC & Jt. Managing Director Jesons Technologies Pvt Ltd, Mr. T R Parasuraman, Vice President-BCIC & Deputy Managing Director, Toyota Industries Engine India Pvt Ltd, Ms. Pankajam Sridevi, Group General Manager – Operations & Services, ANZ Operations and Technology Pvt Ltd. Mr. Gopal B Hosur, IPS (Retd.) Advisor, CSR & Corporate Affairs, JSW Steel Ltd, Mr. Vaibhav Gupta, Director, Krishi Technologies Pvt Ltd., Mr. Babu S, Managing Director, Ashwin Precision Products Pvt Ltd. Mr. Suresh L Patil,         Managing Director, Basant Floorings Pvt Ltd, Mr. K C Holla, Director – BD, Brickwork Ratings, Dr. J Crasta, Chairman, CM Enviro Systems Pvt Ltd, Mr. K R Sekar, Partner, Deloitte Haskins & Sells LLP, Mr. Prashanth Reddy, Managing Director, FunderMax India Pvt Ltd, Mr. B C Prabhakar, President, Karnataka Employers’ Association, Mr. Subbu M Hegde,  Managing Director, Kaushalya Vikas Kendra, Mr. T Suryanarayana, Partner - Tax King & Partridge, Mr. K Narayana Prasanna, Secretary, Laghu Udyog Bharati – Karnataka, Mr. Raja Gopalan S, Chief Financial Officer, Microland Ltd, Mr. Kaushik Mukerjee, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers Pvt Ltd, Mr. Devesh Singh,  Associate General Manager, Schneider Electric India Pvt Ltd, Dr. V Veerappan, Co-Founder and President, Tessolve Semiconductor Pvt Ltd, Mr. Kris Lakshmikanth, Chairman and MD, The Head Hunters (India) Pvt Ltd. Mr. Raju B Ketkale, Sr. Vice President and Director, Toyota Kirloskar Motor Pvt Ltd, Mr. Vishwas B R, Proprietor, Vishwas Granites, Mr. K Ravi, Director, VR e-Biz Solutions Pvt Ltd. Dr. L Ravindran, Managing Director, Wealthmax Enterprises Management Pvt Ltd, Dr. Bose K Nair, Vice President, World Trade Center, Bangalore.

BCIC will also be inducting more industry leaders as Special Invitees into the Management Committee in the coming days.