Bangalore Chamber of Industry & Commerce

BCIC Constitutes 14 Expert Committees To Work Closely with Government on Policy Advocacy and Investment Promotion in Karnataka

Bangalore Chamber of Industry and Commerce today constituted 14 Expert Committees encompassing all industry verticals which will closely work with the State and the Central government on policy advocacy and investment promotion in Karnataka.

Announcing the formation of Expert Committee for fiscal 2018-19 Mr. Kishore Alva, President, BCIC said: “Top industry captains are heading the 14 Expert Committees (ECs) formed by BCIC. These ECs will closely work with the State and the Central Governments to suggest and recommend administrative and procedural changes that the industry is facing to support smooth functioning. It is very necessary to align all our programmes with Government programmes wherever possible so that there are synergies which will produce tangible results.”

The Expert Committees have been formed in industry domains like Aerospace, Taxation, Energy, Environment, Agro and Food Processing, Urban Development, Banking, Finance, Corporate and Economic Affairs, Human Resource, ICT, Manufacturing, Tourism, Start-up ESDM, Industry Institute Interface, Women Empowerment. Mr. Kishore Alva said: “The Role of the Expert Committee will be to understand key factors that drive economic growth for the State and benchmark the State’s policy initiatives, practices and strengths with the peer-set and identify key action items that can be implemented so as to achieve economic pre-eminence for Karnataka.”

Over the next one year, the Chamber will interact with key Departments of the Union and State Governments and partner with Trade and Investment promotion Organisations to promote investments into the State.

BCIC’s primary vision is to make the Chamber the most preferred in Karnataka to facilitate business growth and add value to its stakeholders.

S.N. Expert Committee Chairperson Co-Chair
1. Aerospace and Aviation Mr. Ashok Saxena Chairman, Bangalore Aerospace Consultants Mr. A N Chandramouli Board Member Starrag India
2. Agro & Food Processing Mr. Somnath Chatterjee Divisional Manager - Procurement ITC Ltd, Foods Division - NA -
3. Banking, Finance & Corporate Affairs Mr. N Venkatakrishnan Sr. Vice President and CFO Tata Hitachi Construction Machinery Co. Ltd Mr. N Jagannathan Chakravarthi Chief Financial Officer Mindtree Ltd
4. Direct Taxes Mr. K R Sekar Partner, Deloitte Haskins & Sells Mr. Sunil Kumar Dhareshwar SVP and Global Head - Taxation Infosys Ltd
COORDINATOR Ms. Tapati Ghose Senior Director, Deloitte Haskins & Sells
5. Economic Affairs Mr. Kaushik Mukerjee Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers - NA -
6. Energy, Environment & Water Mr. Ramesh Saligrama Vice President - PJM Dept Bosch Ltd Mr. Girish Navada Associate General Manager Adani - Udupi Power Corporation
7. ESDM Dr. V Veerappan President, Tessolve Semiconductor - NA -
8. Human Resources Mr. P S Ponnappa Vice President- ERM TVS Motor Company Ltd Mr. S Subramanyam CEO-Ascent Consulting Services
9. ICT & Industry - Institute Interface (3i) Mr. Manas Dasgupta Sr. Technology Manager - ANZ Wealth ANZ Operations and Technology Ms. Richa Sarna Public Relations Officer Indus Business Academy
10. Indirect & State Taxes Mr. G Shivadass Executive Partner Lakshmikumaran & Sridharan Mr. N R Badrinath Partner, Singhvi, Dev & Unni
MENTORS Mr. P V Srinivasan, Advisor, Wipro Limited
Mr. S. Venkataramani, Partner, Singhvi, Dev & Unni
11. Manufacturing Mr. Raju B Ketkale, Sr. Vice President, Toyota Kirloskar Motor Dr. S Devarajan, SVP - Production Engineering TVS Motor Company Ltd
12. Tourism Mr. Vineet Verma Executive Director, Brigade Hospitality Services Ltd Mr. Veerendra Shadakshari Director - Operations Ramanashree Group of Hotels
13. Women Leadership & Empowerment Ms. Lavanya Pachisia Finance Controller Zivame Mr. Augustus Azariah India/SA Regional Leader - Labour Relations, HR Business Continuity, IBM India